Ex APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, Governor of Kano, Governor of Kogi on US Visa ban list while El-Rufai’s ban was extended.

Spread the gist

Reports from US officials indicates that more Nigerian politicians may be included on the Visa ban list after Edo Governorship election if they are involved in electoral malpractice.

Kogi State Governor Yahaya Bello and Kano State Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje are among top Nigerians slammed with a visa ban by the United States Government on Monday.
A former Edo State Governor and ex APC National Chairman Adams Oshiomhole is among those affected by the latest US sanction.

Governor Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai  of kaduna on the other hand had his own ban extended.

On Monday 14 September, Morgan Deann Ortagus the American Government Official serving as spokesperson for the United States Department said that those issued visa bans received the sanction for undermining democracy in Nigeria.

It reads, “In July 2019, we announced the imposition of visa restrictions on Nigerians who undermined the February and March 2019 elections. Today, the Secretary of State is imposing additional visa restrictions on individuals for their actions surrounding the November 2019 Kogi and Bayelsa States elections and in the run up to the September and October 2020 Edo and Ondo States elections.

“These individuals have so far operated with impunity at the expense of the Nigerian people and have undermined democratic principles.

“The Department of State emphasises that the actions announced today are specific to certain individuals and not directed at the Nigerian people. This decision reflects the Department of State’s commitment to working with the Nigerian Government to realise It’s expressed commitment to end corruption and strengthen democracy, accountability, and respect for human rights.”